Skip to content

The Second Run (Week 1 Review).

July 24, 2016

First week completed! It’s been bit interesting, mostly because I didn’t get as much done as I thought I would have. That being said it was nice to be able to work on something fresh and different for a change. This week was essentially just for brainstorming and seeing what I could get done under a stricter timeframe. I found that I must do anatomy and figure drawing each day anyway, it’ll be the main bulk of the focus during these six months and the writing side of things will be secondary.

So Valley of Humanity Part 18 will be up soon, just need to finalise the draft and type it up. I’m thinking of setting aside Saturdays as the allocated day to writing all things story-blogging. I have more time on the weekends to do the little projects that aren’t part of the main 6 months focus anyway. It’ll be done by next week and hopefully I can post it Saturday, maybe Sunday.

With the main writing focus, I started working on a character list with a short biography for each one. I got the main character down, only to realise that I had already started one a while back and completed almost exactly the same amount (and like this one: not a lot!). So from tomorrow I will do one character a day, looking at their background, their personalities and their role within the story. I may write it rough and type it all up at the end of the week, that way I can be fast and loose and not worry about having to correct mistakes.

So finally the art stuff. Not much to say on this subject, other than that I’ve started working through the Anatomy Essentials magazine once again. It seems to be going quite well; the last six months of anatomy and figure drawings are really starting to show through. It’s made it easier to see what the artists in the magazine are trying to show in their instructions. I look forward to the challenges ahead!

This is a portrait sketch I did from a friend’s design of Jamie Lannister that she made using the Dragon Age Inquisition character creator:

Alex_JamieL_DA_72

Kcorym 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

