Skip to content

(Almost) 20,000 words & graphic novels.

March 26, 2016

Four chapters complete and 18,138 words done for my novel. Can’t believe I’ve nearly done 20,000 words! That’s very nearly half of a 50,000 novel. I mean yes ok it’s taken me three months to get here but doing bitesize pieces has so far ensured that I don’t burn out or get writers block, something which happened frequently during my two attempts at the NaNoWriMo challenge. The novel itself is looking like it may go beyond 50,000 words but I’ll be happy to just achieve that amount by the end of this focused six months… which I now realise I’m roughly half way through. Yikes!

Anyway on to the comic. I’ve finished a basic figure of my main character using a pose reference from Deviant Art and have started to draw what I hope will look like a dress on her. After that it will be time for the face. I’m also going to be digitally painting her which should be fun (and challenging as it’s been a while since I’ve done any painting on Painter… or any for that matter). My other art project (Sundays only) is continuing nicely. I’ve narrowed down the type of image I’ll be using for my blog’s banner and I simply need to sketch out the line-work before moving it on for painting. In fact, now that I’m typing this I’m wondering if I should hand paint it… maybe with watercolour… or pastels… hmm this suddenly got more interesting!

So I finished Fatale Volume 1(by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips) the other day and I really enjoyed it. I have Volume 2 ready to read (I bought it a while back when I… well I don’t remember how far I was into Volume 1 at the time). Anyway I decided to start again and read it through in two sessions. The mix of detective noir in the fifties and modern day, coupled with horror elements was really cool (sorry, lame phrase due to lack of smart words at the moment), and by the end I knew I’d made the right choice by taking a chance with it. I’m looking into some of the other stuff these guys have made such as Scene of the Crime and Criminal, so I may have found my little corner when it comes to graphic novels.

Well that’s it for this week. Here’s some more gesture drawings (more 60 second ones… and one of the poses was a little odd) using Posemaniacs and charcoal:

AnatomyGroup9_72

Happy Easter!

Kcorym 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

