Skip to content

More figures & Learning Japanese.

February 26, 2016

Another week, another load of art and writing done, although this week I focused mainly on exploring who my novel characters are and their background and place in the story. I printed the character sketch sheet (the previous blog entry has the link) and just wrote in the boxes the details of four characters who are the central focus. It’s helped narrow down their motivations and their ‘ticks’ as it were. Chapter 3 is almost complete too which is great and I’m really getting these words down lately, as opposed to a few years ago where I would work on it for a few hours then leave it for six months…

Anyway I’m continuing with the Posemaniacs gesture drawings. I’ve experimented with the timing of the poses by cranking up the countdown from 30 seconds to 90 seconds and thus giving me more time to complete a drawing. This certainly has shown that more time equals more human looking drawings, yet I think there’s a danger on my part of overdrawing the figure and trying to put too many details that mess up the drawing rather than enhance it. It’ll be something to work on from now on.

Here are some of those drawings, a few done with a charcoal stick and the others by pencil:

 AnatomyGroup7_72

On an art related subject I’ve been pondering over whether to use one of my Sundays (this is the day I choose to have off to game or read or…just lounge about) to create a new banner image for my main blog page. I want to do something that represents both the writing and the experimental art; essentially it’s just to spruce up the page and make it more interesting. So I’ll be finding time to do that, and since it will be done on my day off it won’t be breaking any rules I’ve subjected myself to 😀

And last but not least, I am in the early stages of learning to speak Japanese, which I have to say is hard yet rewarding. It’s pretty cool actually being able to recall little sentences here and there like asking for somebodies name and being able to tell someone about yourself in another language. I’m hoping to become at least able to speak simple things in case I ever get to go. It’s also become a bit of a hobby of mine of late; something to do that keeps the brain active I guess!

Kcorym 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

