Skip to content

On Schedule!

February 18, 2016

Six weeks have now past! I’m now on my second schedule sheet with another six weeks ahead of me; the first week is already halfway done. I now have four and a half months left of this focused creative goal, and so far it’s been paying off. For fun I’ve put the image of my old – and now completed – schedule sheet on here. As you can see everything is ticked off (maybe not on the day it was supposed to be done…but done nonetheless) and I’ve had a real feeling of accomplishment these last six weeks, and I’m determined for it to continue!

Here is the first completed schedule sheet which started and ended with the dates 4th Jan 2016 to 14th Feb 2016:

 ScheduleSheet_1

This week – and the weekend – I’ve been pretty much doing the same thing. Although instead of doing my normal 300 words yesterday, I applied a character sketch sheet template to the main character of my noir novel (of which I’m now 10,232 words in J) that explains a few details about him; such as his eye colour, education, occupation, main motivations etc… I will be doing more of these for each of the main and most prominent characters in the story. I also drew some male human figures from references in the anatomy magazine just for a bit of a change. I’ve found men a little easier to draw (is that because I’m male?) than women, but the muscles are still a little tricky on both. However regardless of the difficulties I am still doing the 30 second gesture drawings from the posemaniacs site, which are helping me get those figures down quickly – not perfectly – but the more I look and draw and practice, the better I’ll get.

American Gods (by Neil Gaiman) is a good, yet weird book so far, but it reads really well and I’m really enjoying the travel aspect of the story. I love the names for the main characters; Shadow and Mr Wednesday as they give it a unique and strange sort of feel and create the sense that these men aren’t quite normal people (at least Mr Wednesday isn’t by the look of things). I’m looking forward to reading some more!

Anyway that’s it so far, here are some more 30 second gesture drawings:

 AnatomyGroup6

Kcorym 🙂

Link:
Character Sketch Sheet: (From Book in a Month by Victoria Lynn Schmidt, Ph.D.)

http://www.writersdigest.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/30Days-Character-Sketch.pdf

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

