Skip to content

Books, Suggestive RPG’s, & Charcoal.

February 4, 2016

So this post has been moved from tomorrow to today. I think Friday nights are not everyone’s preferred reading times so I thought I might try posting the entry on Thursdays for a bit and see how things go. I might post the next Valley of Humanity part next Thursday instead of Friday as well; but hey ho it’s just one day earlier.

Anyway, I guess I’ll start with the fact I have finally finished China Mieville’s The City & The City, and can say I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was nice and condensed, and in some ways a better read than Perdido Street Station, which I also enjoyed but felt overwhelmed by some of the descriptive words I had never heard of and had to keep looking up in a thesaurus. The line “On every word…?” comes to mind a bit. It would be interesting to see if there will be another book set in this story’s universe, but that remains up to the author. The next book I have in my crosshairs from China Mieville is Railsea, but right now I’m twelve pages into Neil Gaiman’s American Gods and practically settled into this new adventure… which I will hopefully finish before Ruin – 3rd book in The Faithful and the Fallen series by John Gwynne – comes out on paperback and I can get back into my current favorite fantasy series!

My writing is continuing nicely, I found out today that doing my 300 words in the morning is much better than trying to write them in the evening; at eleven thirty at night to be more precise. This seems to work better because after sleep the brain is more organized and thus the thought processes allow the writing to have more clarity. This was advice I got from Chris Oatley’s Art Cast, the same Art Cast which convinced me to narrow and focus on only a few projects for six months. Because of this I have nearly finished Chapter Two and the word count for the whole thing so far stands at 7071 which I think isn’t too bad. Just 42,929 words to go!

I told you all how much I’m enjoying Bravely Default – the art work is worth the money alone, especially when it is viewed in 3D – but I’m quite surprised by how… adult some of the discussions are between the characters are, even though it’s a rather cutesy game. A dirty old sage, Ringabel’s comments (those who’ve played the game will know what I’m on about…). But nevertheless I’m progressing nicely and it’s great to just pick up and play every so often and be envious of the artistic talent of whoever painted those environments.

Finally on the drawing front I’ve had a go at using charcoal sticks instead of pencils – something I haven’t done since my university days – and the results are interesting, I think a little better actually, than the penciled gesture drawings. I drew a quick test picture using no references, but just a technique that I learned from an Otis College video on YouTube. Then I used the Posemaniacs website and set the timer to 45 seconds just to get a feel for the charcoal again, drawing a few figures.

Anyway here they are, the practice run is the large figure on the left and the 45 second drawings are in the right. All a part of my ever going journey of drawing people with the goal of actually getting good…

AnatomyGroup5

Kcorym 🙂

Otis College Gesture Drawing, Video 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3QzApLXI4I

Chris Oatley’s Art Cast Artistic Advice: http://chrisoatley.com/artcast-58-artistic-growth-is-not-a-goal-how-to-become-an-early-riser/

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

