Skip to content

Drawing & The Sandman.

January 29, 2016

Another week, another batch of writing and drawing done… with a little bit of gaming and reading thrown in. I’ve continued with figure drawing throughout the week and will for the next five months. I think I’m making real progress on learning how to break the drawings down into the bare ‘skeletal’ version of the figure before adding shapes and curves and whatnot. I’ve decided to draw from photos from the anatomy magazine now that I’m feeling a little more confident in using what I’ve learnt, but I will keeping doing 30 second gesture drawings using Posemaniacs. By next month I want to start roughing out some of my comic (I really can’t wait to get started with it!) and sort out the organization of the panels and what kind of shots (I like to use the movie storyboard term) I will need.

…and speaking of comics, how great is The Sandman?! I’m so glad I finally found a copy of Volume 1: Preludes & Nocturnes for rent in the library. It’s so… weird and wonderful and there have been some cameo appearances from other DC characters which was cool – even if I’m not much of a superhero fan. It’s so dark and gritty and funny and… well I could go on. For those not in the know (like me a few months ago) The Sandman is a series of comics written by Neil Gaiman, and drawn by Sam Kieth, Mike Dringenberg & Malcolm Jones III. Short version of this is: go and give it a go, I’m glad I did 🙂

My novel is coming along nicely, at least the rough draft anyway. I’m nearly at ten pages in and halfway through Chapter Two. Its strange rewriting a story, it’s like doing something different, with different events at different times, and yet the world around the characters somehow remains the same; a bit like puppets on a set piece (think Thunderbirds or Team America). It will be interesting to see where my imagination takes me (though this is a noir story not a puppet film!).

To finish off, below are some more examples of my anatomy and figure practicing:

AnatomyGroup4.jpg

Kcorym 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

