Skip to content

4,194 words & a few figures.

January 22, 2016

Chapter One of my noir novel is complete! (Well the rough draft anyway). But still this is great for me, 4,194 words over the last few weeks doing 300 words per day – excluding Sundays for ‘me’ time – and it’s really paying off. Because I have a plan, because I have a timetable and because I’ve made myself a less taxing amount to do each day, I’ve managed to get more done in two weeks with the first chapter than I ever did a few years ago with the old version of the chapter one. It’s created a routine which is great, and I think I’m on track for 50,000 words by the middle of June.

With my human figure drawing I’ve discovered a great YouTube channel called OtisCollege (I’ve put a link at the bottom of this blog entry) which features some tips and examples of figure/life drawing and how to capture the pose in a short time. There are also lessons on faces. It’s something that connects back to my university days when a part of our course was life drawing and I… was OK at it but still needed improvement. I’m still looking into doing life drawing classes in the local colleges but so far none of them are doing any since the last time I enrolled for a course (which they cancelled). Anyway, here are some examples of the figures I’ve been drawing using the OtisCollege videos and the Posemaniacs website (again another link at the bottom of this blog entry):

AnatomyGroup3

 

I’m still reading The City & The City by China Mieville, and I’ve almost finished with it. It’s been a great book to read and I recently found out that the BBC is making a miniseries adaptation which I’ll look forward to. It will be interesting to see how they deal with the …concept and setting… parts of the story. (Go read the book 🙂 ).

Bravely Default on the 3DS is a beautiful game; traditionally drawn-style environments that translate amazingly well in 3D. The game itself is hard however, (or at least hard to me) and a friend pointed out that I should do a levelling grind before advancing further as I found I was dying… a lot. It requires quite a bit of planning using the Brave/Default functions; Brave being you use more turns than one but lose a turn later and Default where you sacrifice a turn but gain one after the enemies have theirs… if that all makes sense. It took me a while to get the hang of it but now I’m happy to explore and attempt to save the world!

On a final note, The Valley of Humanity Part 13 will be posted on 12th Feb, so look out for that in a few weeks.

Kcorym 🙂

OtisCollege video channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/OtisCollege

Posemaniacs website: http://www.posemaniacs.com/thirtysecond

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

