Skip to content

NaNoWriMo approaches…

September 21, 2014

So NaNoWriMo is just a little more than a month away and already I have started to brainstorm various ideas for stories and plan structures. This is so I have a guide to use when writing the main body of text. I think this where I fell down last year, the fact that I came across the event a day before the project was due to start and tried to jump into it without any real clue about how to proceed. I also admit that the 50,000 word-count requirement was an incredibly daunting goal to attempt to reach. Even by dividing the number by thirty days, 1667 words per day is a hefty amount for a full time worker. I have, however, come up with an idea in which to help reduce the daily-word count needed for the later days in the month. This is to set myself the goal of doing more words (say, 2,000?) per day in the first few days (maybe even in the first week). It seems kind of an obvious thing to do but even the simplest method might make the whole task seem less overwhelming. I hope to at least get the needed daily word- count down to about a thousand or less. Well we’ll see what happens when November finally arrives!

Anyway with the art side of things I have been jumping back into digital painting and trying out various techniques. I have started to use the Wacom tablet to sketch and speed paint (albeit basic sketches and speed paintings) various things. At the moment I’ve been trying to practice with clothing and how to get the creases right. This has been difficult yet rewarding, plus very educational. I’ve found that it’s essentially about the lighting and understanding various pieces of clothing and what they’re made of. I have also been continuing with the bigger paintings for the huge number of projects for both myself and others. When doing these, I’ve found that experimenting and trying different techniques to navigate around obstacles to be hugely beneficial to my confidence as an artist. I have a huge list of pieces that I have to buckle down and complete; it’s all good fun.

Finally, I’ve started to read Consider Phlebas by Iain M. Banks. It’s a Sci-fi novel about two warring civilisations. It’s good so far, more Battlestar Galactica than Star Wars or Star Trek I would say, which is refreshing. Anyway, it’s too early to talk about it at the moment…

Kcorym 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

