Skip to content

A doodle a day…

August 2, 2014

Doodle A

Doodle B

So I have been trying out this sort of drawing exercise that my best friend has been doing for the past few weeks, it’s basically where I have to do at least one doodle per day. I have been keeping this up every day no matter what (I think that continuing doing the work-in-progress stuff counts) for I think just over a week now, and I am starting to see the benefit of this as each sketch is produced. They don’t have to be the most amazing drawings; they can be simple sketches of cutesy animals or a random face or figure. As you can see from the examples in the post , they’re very random drawings, mostly without reference and just for the purpose of the daily art exercise. Sometimes however, I have produced a drawing from a How To art book and used this day by day exercise to get some completed. I guess I have found it a great way of drawing at least one thing a day rather than per week… or month.

On the book side of things I’m on the last few chapters of The Big Sleep and will complete it by tomorrow ready to watch the film. I might even watch the film tomorrow night in fact, but I tend to save Noir films for nights that are not followed by work in the morning (it’s weird I know, but hey, to each his own). Anyway we’ll see. The next book on my list to read is a sci-fi novel called Consider Phlebas by Iain M. Banks. It’s the first novel of the Culture series and considered one of the best in the sci-fi genre (apparently), so I thought I’d give it a try. I’ve started to think it would be good idea to keep things varied reading wise, and not just read one genre for a long period of time. I look forward to reading it!

Also I would like to thank Nathan Quiring (Chronicles of the Third Age) blog for nominating me for the Liebster Award, which basically  encourages newer bloggers (less than 200 followers) to continue writing (see this link http://thirdagechronicles.com/2014/07/28/165/ ). I will hopefully be able to nominate people myself who have less then 200 followers in due course!

Kcorym 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

