Skip to content

Another book finished! (After over a year)

December 20, 2013

So today, after one year and about two months, I finally finished Perdido Street Station by China Mieville. Honestly, I haven’t taken that long to finish a book since the first time I read The Lord of the Rings! Now, I’m not really a critic, I don’t think that the profession “Critic” is really a true profession. I think the only people who should judge things are the readers/viewers/gamers etc… I will of course talk about this book and what I liked about it, and things that could have been slightly better; without spoilers. The story is set in the fictional world called Bas-Lag, in a City called New Crobuzon. The world is like a Victorian steampunk metropolis where magic and weird creatures and humans all coexist. The plot is this: A stranger arrives in the city and employs the services of a scientist called Issac. This starts off a number of events that puts the city in danger, and Issac, his friends, and the stranger have to save it. Despite being a fantasy adventure with impossible (yet awesome) creatures, it featured a lot of humanity through even the strangest of beings. The characters had morals, yet the situation changes and moulds them as the story progresses; some are somewhat unsavoury, yet you find yourself rooting for them. There are a few surprises, some good, some nasty, and some that agitate and annoy. It felt human, even in a very alien world, and that’s a great asset to a story in my opinion. There are one or two hiccups: firstly I did feel by the end that I still wanted more, to get the feeling of true finalisation. And secondly, I often found it hard to follow; the author is obviously quite highly educated and well versed in the many, many high end words from the wonderful book called the thesaurus. I feel he could have toned the heavy words down just a bit, which I think would have made it quicker and easier to read. But of course that could have just been me needing my vocabulary increased… Anyway, the bottom line is that I have never read anything like this and it was so well detailed; the world functioned and breathed. It’s really up to you whether you like it or not, so if you’re looking for something interesting and different, with oddball characters and a world that’s very out there, yet believable, then give it a go! I enjoyed it 🙂

On a quick note, “From the Reformed: Part 4” is on its way. I have decided to write them longer than before, so it is taking longer, as expected. So keep a look out for that. Also I am currently working on some digital painting stuff, so again watch this space!

If I don’t post in the next week or so: MERRY CHRISTMAS AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR! X

Kcorym 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

