Skip to content

Eye’s read… brain say’s “what?”

July 12, 2013

So does anyone else experience the occasional difficulty of reading a sentence… then realising you need to re-read it because you didn’t take it in the first time? It’s been happening to me recently and it’s slowing me down to no end, and I’m trying to finish my damn book (Perdido Street Station by China Miéville). Don’t get me wrong I’m enjoying it (I’ve never read anything like it which is great) but I have a lot of other things to read and I’m worried that I’ll die before I get through all my other books! Thing is, I only get half an hour for lunch and within that half an hour I only seem to manage two pages, maybe two and a half. I usually try to get to the next page break if I’m in the middle of a chapter, but sometimes that isn’t even possible. Sometimes, I can’t even get off the first word! Yes… seriously… Let’s say I’m about to start a new sentence and the first word is “The”…. My mind will read this over and over, but the rest of the sentence just doesn’t jump-start like it should. That’s happened a few times recently, and it gets on my nerves. The worst thing though, is when it’s time to turn the page and I have to keep checking that the page I have turned to is the correct one; literally, I will re-read the last few sentences then look at the page number, then when I’m satisfied that the number is imprinted into my brain, I’ll turn the page and check that that number correlates with the one I’ve memorized. I do this a few times just to make sure that the page I’m moving on to joins up with what’s been written the previous one. I’m guessing it’s an OCD issue, such a small thing I know, but jeez does it bring things to a grinding halt.

Anyway! I just needed to get that off my chest. I wander how many other people have the same problem as me when it comes to reading? Probably not all of those at once, I just have a bit of OCD, but you never know…

Well not much to report this week, but my writing is going well. I seem to have been getting a lot more done these last few weeks. I have nearly finished a draft of the first chapter of my noir story. I’m probably naive in saying I’m quite happy with it, but when you’re quite new to this stuff your excitement gets the better of you. I’m gonna try and get some friends to read it so they can give me some feedback. I really hope it’s not too bad! In the meantime I have some concept drawings to get on with this weekend for a friend’s comic, and I said one of them will have some painting applied… so I better get going!

Thanks for reading.

Kcorym 🙂

From → 2. Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

