Skip to content

Let the digital painting and space exploration begin…

June 29, 2013

Hello all 🙂

Not much to report this week, although I can now say I am the proud owner of a copy of Corel Painter 12, which arrived in the post Friday morning. It seems to be running fine and I spent a portion of the evening getting the patches and updates from Corel’s website to make sure it’s the most recent version (although this is just out of worry because some people have said it’s had its fair share of problems since its release). I’ve nearly finished a noir picture which I need to clean up using Painter; I’ll post a link to Deviant Art when it’s done or I might try to post it on here to make use of the “art” bit in my blog’s title. Having Corel also means I can get on with learning to paint digitally and start to produce some work for my various friends’ comics. Really can’t wait to get started.

On the writing side there isn’t really much to say, not on the actual ‘writing’ part anyway. I have been looking at what to read after Perdido Street Station (China Miéville), and I seem to have developed a hankering to read some space opera; I intend to start with Pandora’s Star (Peter F. Hamilton). I’ve always had my eye on this, and the second book, Judas Unchained. I’m looking forward to changing genres again and exploring a different angle in storytelling. This all started when I recalled an awesome space-sim called Freespace 2, in which I really liked the idea of a group of humans who have been cut off from Earth for a long time and end up being attacked by an alien race of unknown origins. Who knows, maybe I’ll write a Space Opera myself one day? Hint hint… ( I will of course keep working on my current stories no matter what though).

 

Well, I guess that’s all for this week. Like I said above I’ll post the noir picture when it’s done. I might even add the one that’s already on Deviant Art with it.

Well thanks for reading!

 

Kcorym 🙂

From → 2. Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

