Skip to content

My new Intuos5, Fine-lining, & Creating life with words

June 7, 2013

So some good progress this week, I’ll start with the arrival of my Intous5 Touch and just how awesome it is. (For those who don’t know, the Intuos5 is Wacom’s new pen tablet that allows you to use your fingers to control what goes on when you’re drawing in Photoshop or Corel Painter, the latter of which I’ve been playing around with). My favourite thing about the touch feature has to be the ability to rotate the canvas you’re working on by moving two of your fingers in a circular motion on the pad, or zooming in and out by pinching them closer or further apart. It’s just so cool, for lack of a better word.

Anyway, I have started fine-lining a drawing for one of my friends comics. Let’s just get this all out in the open shall we? I hate fine-lining! It’s taking forever! I have another friend that does it virtually every day and is amazing at it, but she still hates it. I used to joke and laugh every time she moaned about it. Now I see the horror! It’s got me, and it’s not letting go. Unless of course I quit digital painting early, which I have no intention of doing. I just have to stick it through, it will be worth it. 🙂

On to the writing, I am starting to learn how to space scenes out and create a sense of life and a bigger place in the world I have created. In my noir story, I have written what I think are a decent couple of scenes with my main character and his partner (professional partner). The partner is breaking some news to the main character which, depending on how he takes it, could be both bad and good. After the news is broken I have my main character sat down with his head in his hands, contemplating on what to think. I explore his head for a moment whilst he does this; then I shift over to the partner. But instead of going inside his head, I just have him walk over to the closed curtains that cover the balcony window. I describe a few things he sees when he peaks outside: a cat climbing a dumpster then a wall, cars moving up and down a road to the right. I never thought I would have written that sort of thing into a scene, but I guess I have been picking up on how professional writers create mood in situations and interaction between different characters. I guess I’ll just have to see how things pan out in my writing in the coming months. Looking forward to it I must say!

 

Well that’s it again for another week. It looks like this entry is a few hours earlier than my last few, not to mention actually on a Friday. Go me!

Thanks for reading and hope you enjoyed.

Kcorym 🙂

From → 2. Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

