Skip to content

Some Actual Progress!

February 13, 2013

So it’s been nearly a month since my last post. Ok so I didn’t quite do the “a post a week” thing but I have got some stuff done in that time, so yay for me!

Progress report 1: I have written 5174 words for my novel, which for my standards is pretty good (my thesis at university was 5000 words). I have essentially written a good few months of work in… slightly less than a few months. But the general progress is that the characters and the world around them are starting to come together and take shape. Still got a long way to go but even a few hours of writing a week comes together as a nice large body of work at the end of the month.

Progress report 2: I have finished a short story and now need to edit it so that it’s not too awful. I’m quite pleased with it though, it was inspired by a song and various films. I need to make sure the ending has impact and that I haven’t put too much descriptive stuff in it, you know, “he thought of the days they used to go along the beach and blah blah blah”. Anyway I’ll be editing that this week.

On a different note, I’ve noticed some fellow bloggers talk about what they have read or what they are reading, so I thought I should be doing the same. At the moment I’m reading ‘Perdido Street Station’ by China Mieville. It’s good so far; weird yet interesting characters and a setting that to my mind seems to blend Blade Runner with Sweeny Todd’s London (the Tim Burton one). Before this I read the first two Rebus novels “Knots & Crosses” and “Hide & Seek” (Ian Rankin). I like “Catch the killer” stuff and was impressed with these books. Despite being written in the 80’s they hold up pretty well. Maybe it’s the lack of modern forensics that makes them more interesting? A bit like Noir detective stories from the 1940’s where its focused more on the people than on the ‘hair in the carpet’, if that makes sense…

Anyway that’s a little update on how things are going. Really trying to make some time for drawing too, I want to do some art based on my stories but that media type is currently engaged on other projects. Still, when an opportunity arrives…
Well I’ll shut up and get on with some work now.

Thanks for reading!

🙂

From → 2. Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

