Skip to content

Writing a Novel

December 12, 2012

Ok, so basically I am attempting to write a detective novel with a kind of Noir/Supernatural element to it. Obviously I’m not going to say what some of my plot ideas are. However what I would like is some advice and critique. I’d like to know stuff about dialogue and characters, also what kind of things to avoid and what’s been done to death. If anyone has any good tips/tricks/advice, please feel free to comment (although serious stuff please, don’t just spam the page like Youtube lol). I’d like to know what blogs to follow and what books to read. Useful stuff would be really appreciated, so thanks in advance if you do post 🙂

Also I will be posting some more short stories as they come to my head. ‘My Trash Heap’ was a sudden impulse written on paper one night and I thought “what the hell, I’ll share it with people!”. I’m glad some people liked it and if anybody hasn’t read it yet I would really appreciate some constructive feedback as I’m fairly new at creative writing.

Anyway I’ll stop yapping and get on with things!

Thanks for reading!

Kcorym 🙂

From → 2. Writing

3 Comments
  1. For me the noir genre is built on cliches like the Femme Fatale. But the supernatural makes it interesting. I don’t know if you read comics, but Fatale by Ed Brubaker might be interesting to have a look at. Its very good.

Leave a Reply

