Skip to content

Old Blog Post (But relevant)

October 14, 2012

 

Additional Projects

So as the job hunting continues I at least keep myself busy with drawing and novels. I’m reading the Rebus series by Ian Rankin, good stuff, nice and dark and has very realistic characters. I’m on the second book at the moment: Hide & Seek.Anyway on to the art, another one of my friends is writing a comic and I have offered to do same environments and background designs for her. Its quite different from the other comic as it’s meant to have aesthetics similar to Final Fantasy 12, Tales of Vesperia and Pandora’s Tower. this gives me a nice challenge as I’m used to modern city environments. I’ve been using lots of references of 17-19th century buildings and ships, also the above list of games. The only problem i can see is that i don’t have access to Photoshop, not to mention have my own computer at the moment, so i can only sketch and manually clean up my drawings. This might work to my advantage however as it helps improve my skills on the sketchpad which is the main part of the work anyway.

I recently found out in Deviant Art that adding keywords to submitted artwork helps with getting views. So I’ll be doing that in the future! Speaking of Deviant Art I have added a few new additions: A couple life self-portraits which I drew with a fountain pen in front of a mirror. You can see them here: http://kcorym.deviantart.com/    Lower expectations before viewing! I still really need practice but hay, all in good time.

Well that’s pretty much it, haven’t really done much in the way of writing my own story apart from transferring handwritten work into Word. I think I need to finish my novel witting help-book and ‘Story’ by
Robert McKee in order to understand structure and storytelling better, though I will keep writing ideas.

Anyway thanks for reading and hopefully i will have more to show in the next blog, maybe some more complete stuff!

Bye for now!

Kcorym 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

